Skillet Cornbread.

Buttery!

Buttery!

My husband loves cornbread. I don’t have any objections to it – it’s usually sweet and buttery, and I’m good with that – but I don’t seek it out or get excited by the idea of it.

Having recently acquired a 10″ cast iron skillet, I decided that my first recipe would be cornbread. It was easy to make, it turned out wonderfully, and I ate several pieces. More than my husband. Next time I’ll add some minced jalapenos!

Here’s the recipe:

Skillet Cornbread

Makes one lovely round 10″ loaf of cornbread (see notes)

1 1/4 cups ground cornmeal
3/4 cup flour
1/4 cup white sugar
1 teaspoon sea salt
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/3 cup whole milk
1 cup buttermilk
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1/4 cup of unsalted butter (melted)

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 425F.  Put the cast iron skillet into the oven to heat while you’re preparing the batter.
  2. Mix the cornmeal, flour, sugar, salt, baking powder, and baking soda together. Stir in the milk, buttermilk, and eggs.
  3. Add almost all of the melted butter, stirring. Save about a tablespoon of melted butter for slickin’ up the skillet later!
  4. Remove the hot skillet from the oven and drop the oven temperature to 375F.
  5. Coat the bottom and sides of the skillet with the remaining melted butter. Use a basting brush to coat the sides.
  6. Pour the batter into the skillet and bake in the centre of the oven for about 17 minutes.  (See notes)
  7. The cornbread is done with the centre is firm and a toothpick comes out clean.
  8. Allow to cool slightly before serving.

Notes:
You could make this in a larger, or smaller, skillet – for a smaller skillet, add time. For a larger skillet, decrease time. Just keep an eye on it!

2 thoughts on “Skillet Cornbread.

  1. I only have a ribbed skillet (I hate single-purpose items, but it’s needed for steak and halloumi outside of BBQ season), but I reckon I can just pop that in a cast iron soup pot and it’ll work. Needs chilli though (cornbread ALWAYS does), I’ll let you know how that works.

Leave a Reply

