Squash Soup.

Looks wholesome, right?

Looks wholesome, right?

I’ve been on a quest, lately, to try all sorts of food that I hated when I was a kid. I figure now is a good time to inflict that suffering see if my kids enjoy any of it.

Squash is on my list. I’ve never been a fan.

My first surprise was how incredibly difficult it is to peel, and chop, a raw squash. It was awkward and challenging and, eventually, I just handed the squash and the knife to my husband. Friends on Facebook later let me know that I could have roasted it, parboiled, or even microwaved it a bit ahead of time.

For now, I’ll post the recipe as I made it – when I make this again, in the future, I’ll update with the new method(s) I use.

Squash Soup

Makes 4 servings.

Ingredients:
1 buttercup squash (or pretty much any other kind), about 2 pounds
1 large onion, hastily chopped
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 tablespoon of butter
1 tablespoon olive oil
3 ribs of celery, chopped
1 teaspoon of ground sage
4 cups of chicken stock (no salt added)
1 teaspoon roasted dried ginger powder
parmesan cheese

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375°F.
  2. Peel the squash while swearing profusely. Cut it in half, scoop out and discard the seeds. Chop the squash into 1 inch chunks.
  3. Combine the squash chunks and the onion in a large bowl. Drizzle on 2 tablespoons of olive oil, 1/2 teaspoon of salt, and 1/2 teaspoon of pepper. Mix it around to coat everything nicely.
  4. Spread the squash and onion onto a foil-lined baking sheet. Put it in the oven and bake it for about 30 minutes or until everything looks lightly browned.
  5. Melt 1 tablespoon of butter and 1 tablespoon of oil in a pot.  Add celery and sage – stir and cook until it’s a little bit softer than it was when you started.
  6. Add the chicken broth and the roasted squash and onion mixture. Bring it all to a boil, stirring, then reduce heat to low and cover. Cooking for another 25 minutes or until vegetables are very soft.
  7. Use your immersion blender to get rid of all the chunks – or put it in a blender (if you’re crazy and don’t fear burning yourself).
  8. Stir in the ground ginger, taste, and add any additional salt and pepper that you’d like.
  9. Serve hot – top each bowl with shredded parmesan cheese. Tell your kids to guess what kind of soup it is.
One thought on “Squash Soup.

Leave a Reply

