Crackpipe Cosy.

One of the things that I do at my job is manage a harm reduction distribution program. Amongst other things, we hand out needles and crackpipes to people who are using drugs – science has shown that handing them out is a good way to prevent the spread of diseases and infections like HIV and Hepatitis C.

During outreach last night, I commented on how I’ve been greatly enjoying my crocheting lately – maybe even getting better! – and it was decided that I should try to crochet a crackpipe cosy. Not for actually handing out, but because, y’know, why not?

As it turns out, the answer to “why not?” is “because it just looks obscene.”

Side view (pipe inside!)

Side view (pipe inside!)

Top view! Pipe inside.

Top view! Pipe inside.

I think I’ll just call this an “experiment” and move on.

(For the sake of conversation, I made it by slightly modifying a pattern for a crocheted chapstick holder that I found on Ravelry. )

Leave a Reply

