Tiny Star.

My friend Rebs sent me a link to what looked like a fairly simple pattern for crocheting a small star. I decided to pick up the supplies for it – only to discover that the local Michaels store only had white in the size crochet thread (30) that I needed. I’m not much for plain white anything, so I went for the next size up (10) and scaled up my hook accordingly.

It’s worth noting that I gave up knitting because it made me too tense – though I tease that I quit because my husband was so much better at it than me (it’s true, he is). I was giving myself headaches and sore wrists from clenching things too tightly and contorting myself to knit. It was ridiculous.

It’s also worth noting that crocheting is only marginally more relaxing for me.  I need more practice, ultimately, so that I can stop death-gripping the yarn and the hook.

In short, all of my yarn-related projects are infused with a great deal of muttering and profanity.

Halfway through working on this star, I realized that the tension on my stitches was all over the place and I had made a few mistakes. I decided to just keep going anyway. Maybe the next one will be less lopsided?

Loonie to show size

Loonie to show size

At least it didn’t take me a lot of time to make this – though far more than I’d have hoped.  That tiny crochet thread is ridiculous to try to hold onto and kept slipping from my hand!

Leave a Reply

